香港國際薩克斯管工作坊


薩克斯管大師簡歷

菲臘蓋斯


GEISSIMG_4638
於斯特拉斯堡音乐學院任教並在日本洗足學園音楽大學當客席教師。菲臘蓋斯是少數屬於法國薩克斯管學派而又比較早期建立自己那種古典和即興音樂«交叉»風格的音樂家。
他在國際上享有盛譽,並在世界各地舉辦音樂會和大師班。作為一位傑出的作曲家,很多知名的音樂家及合奏團均曾演出他的作品。他們包括斯特拉斯堡愛樂樂團,拉脫維亞交響樂團,法國騎兵軍樂隊,美國海軍樂隊,荷蘭管樂團,斯洛文尼亞警樂團,Trombonissimo,薩克斯四重奏包括:Habanera, Alliage, Aurelia,  Diastema, Ellipsos, 布郎馬薩利斯,蒂姆·麥卡利斯特,克勞德·狄朗,阿諾包恩坎普,文森特·大衛,傑羅姆羅倫,桑米切爾高利等等

菲臘非常熱衷於研究怎樣建立古典與爵士音樂家之間的聯繫,為了蒐集資料以支持這項研究,他於數年前已經與傑里貝爾貢齊開始進行一個二重奏的項目。他們一起演奏,作曲,教授和分享他們的經驗。當中過程充滿無限樂趣與激情。
 
與此同時,他也以其古典即興風格參與桑- 弗朗索瓦.亞強貝的音樂會和電視節目的演出。他的音樂風格是介乎於當代研究,爵士和世界音樂之間。菲臘的音樂也被出版社如羅伯特·馬丁,Billaudot,勒杜克等出版。

除此之外,菲臘還籌辦了2015年7月9至14日在法國斯特拉斯堡舉行的SaxOpen  - 第十七屆世界薩克斯管年會。目前他也在負責世界薩克斯聯盟的項目。

菲利普·蓋斯是塞爾瑪和達達里奧的音樂家。


桑米切爾高利
JMG_08
於1961年出生於托南(亞奎丹),桑米切爾高利與J.-M. LondeixF RossJ. Pernoo就讀於波爾多音樂學院, 並與R PiencikowskiD Kientzy就讀於法國現代音樂研究所(IRCAM)。 他的音樂天份在年青時期已經受到公認。1980年,他已在艾克斯萊班的國家青年演奏家的大賽中獲一等獎(由Marcel Mule主持,Roger Muraro伴奏)。目前,他是巴黎/布洛涅 - 比揚古音樂學院的教授及波爾多國際薩克斯管樂團總監。
桑米切爾曾被邀請在著名的藝術節(薩爾茨堡,盧塞恩,愛丁堡,巴黎音樂節,德國威騰,法國於澤斯特和旺德夫爾萊,敖德薩,芝加哥,柏林)演出,並為巴伐利亞青年愛樂樂團,巴黎國家歌劇院,法國國立廣播愛樂樂團和義大利,奧弗涅和圖盧茲的室內樂團作獨奏表演。再者,他也和XASAX薩克斯四重奏,鋼琴家Yves Josset,阿波利奈爾四重奏和Les元素等在世界各地舉行室樂音樂會。

除了密集的音樂會,他亦經常應邀到多所大學和研究生書院(西北大學,伊士曼學校,鮑靈格林,密西根州立大學,魁北克大學蒙特利爾分校,巴塞爾,特拉維夫,馬德里,維也納,塞維利亞,佩薩羅和科隆等)舉辦大師班和獨奏會。
熱衷於創新音樂,桑米切爾曾與Yosh'Ko SefferPascal RophéEvan Parker等合作演奏出極美妙的作品。 1979年以來,他分別與不同的作曲家如Henri Sauguet, MariusConstant, Georges Aperghis Christian Lauba等為400多首作品作首演。迄今為止,他已灌錄超過35張音樂光碟,當中很多均獲得很高的評價。
TOP OF PAGE

謝德驥

 Edited-7344_s
被世界公認為頂尖薩克斯管樂手之一,於美國愛荷華州大學擔任薩克斯管教授的謝德驥博士,絕對是支持薩克斯管的表表者。他的事業開始於在1996年他以紐約國際藝術家比賽優勝者的身份首次在著名的卡奈爾音樂廳演出;他更被紐約時報稱為「一位年輕的音樂大師」。其後國際卓越聯盟所頒發的ALEX大獎令到他再次踏足卡奈爾音樂廳。這兩個獎項只是謝博士在這十多年內眾多獎項之其中兩項。在這之後他就以獨奏者身份活躍於五大洲。他曾被邀請在不同的研討會中主持工作坊如加洲管樂指揮家協會,愛荷華管樂指導者協會,美國中西部國際管樂及管弦樂工作坊。世界各地知名的大學和音樂學院如雪梨音樂學院、莫斯科音樂學院、巴黎音樂學院等亦相繼邀請他主持大師班。最近謝氏更被邀請代表美國為第六屆在比利時迪南舉行的Aldolphe Sax國際薩克斯管大賽擔任評判。 謝德驥在 23 歲時發行了他的第一張唱片錄音後便一直活躍於薩克斯管音樂的唱片製作。他現在合共有6張代表不同薩克斯管風格,有些與其他藝人合作由Crystal Records公司製作的唱片。另外,還有8張及一些正在錄製當中來自RIAX RecordsJeanné Records Arizona University Recordings以及MSR Classics的唱片。
由於謝德驥熱衷於新音樂,他先後得到知名的美國或國際級作曲家為他撰寫超過30名樂曲。謝氏對這些協奏曲、奏鳴曲、獨奏作品、.合奏作品,大部分都作了首演或錄音。謝氏亦為薩克斯管編著音樂(刊於澳大利亞及Reed Music出版社的刊物)。他的文章也多次被刊載於Saxophone Journal, The Instrumentalist, Fanfare Magazine, Saxophone Symposium, Iowa Bandmaster Association Journal Japan’s Piper and The Sax Magainzes, and Yamaha Education Series等中報導。 謝德驥於2009年創辦了香港國際薩克斯管工作坊,這個七天的工作坊成功地把世界一流的薩克斯管演奏家及導師帶到亞洲讓亞洲的薩克斯管樂手能更深入學習此樂器。

謝氏現為愛荷華洲大學薩克斯管音樂教授, 北美薩克斯管聯盟會長及國際薩克斯管委員會會長。欲想瞭解更多有關謝博士的資料及觀看其音樂錄影,請瀏覧www.kenneth-tse.com
TOP OF PAGE

大衛.納, 客席講師

David Nabb 2015(1)
大衛.納為內布拉斯加州立大學科尼分校的音樂教授。愛荷華出生及成長,大衛博士分別取得印第安納大學所頒授多種木管表演學系學士、碩士學位及北德州大學音樂教育博士學位。他還在世界各地包括美國、亞洲、歐洲、中東以多種木管樂器作專業表演。

自從他在2000年中風痊癒後,大衛便與Jeff Stelling一起研究怎樣只用右手吹奏薩克斯管。他曾在世界各地示範他的“toggle-key”薩克斯管。並常被邀請為殘疾人士演講和撰寫樂曲。2013,大衛和謝夫憑他們的“toggle-key”薩克斯管首次獲得了在奧地利林茲布魯克納大樓舉行的奧地利林茲電子藝術節的獎項。在此之前,他們的樂器也在VSA,全美音樂商協會及華盛頓的堅尼地中心得到獎項。

大衛曾為一些殘疾人士於全國性刊物寫了不少關於音樂的文章。當中包括Medical Problems of Performing Artists, Flöte Aktuell,The Flutist Quarterly, The Journal of the American Occupational Therapy Association, The Journal of Research in Music Education

大衛博士的教學經驗包括公立學校的樂團指揮及在密蘇裡洲波普勒布拉夫三河社區學院任音樂總監3年。他亦曾是印第安納大學的助理導師並獲挑選為北德洲大學優質教學基金的成員。博士的學生當中有很多都獲得地方,洲省,甚至國家的認同。2004, 內布拉斯加州立大學的校長鄧尼斯。史密夫稱大衛博士為其大學的新先鋒之一。

大衛博士現為雅瑪哈表演藝術家,他亦一直使用尤金羅素博士的吹嘴。

TOP OF PAGE

愛荷華薩克斯管合奏團


ISW15-16_s

由謝徳驥博士帶領的愛荷華薩克斯管合奏團均是由愛荷華大學音樂學系主修薩克斯管並分別吹奏超高音薩克斯管至低音薩克斯管的精英學生。合奏團演奏的樂曲包括不同風格和難度,更常常為客席獨奏者作伴奏。每年年底他們都會舉辦一場公開音樂會,屢獲好評。

除了本地的演出, 合奏團也為很多地區性或全國性的會議如愛荷華管樂領班會議,北美薩克斯管聯盟會議和美國中西部管樂大會等作特別演出。合奏團的成員全都是經驗豐富並在全國性的比賽和表演,不論在個人或室樂演奏上獲得極高的評價。2010年,合奏團成員贏得北美薩克斯管聯盟古典音樂獨奏及室樂的頭三位,全美音樂教師協會(MTNA) 室樂比賽全國冠軍及菲施賀夫(Fischoff)國際室內樂大賽銀獎。

在2016年夏天,合奏團將開展他們第一次的亞洲之旅,前往香港及成都演出。

TOP OF PAGE

Hong Kong International Saxophone Symposium


Faculty


Philippe Geiss

GEISSIMG_4638
Teaching at  the  Strasbourg superior  academy & conservatory  of music  (France )  and being the guest teacher at  Senzoku Gakuen college of  Tokyo, Philippe is one of the earliest musicians, from the French saxophone school, who builds his own « crossover » style between classical and improvisation music. 
He has an international reputation and gives concerts and master classes all over the world.  As composer, his music is performed by famous musicians & ensembles  :  Strasbourg Philharmonic orchestra, Latvian Symphonic orchestra, Garde Républicaine,  U.S. Navy band, Nederland wind ensemble, Slovenian Police Orchestra, Trombonissimo, Sax quartets : Habanera, Alliage, Aurelia, Diastema, Ellipsos, Branford Marsalis, Tim McAllister, Claude Delangle, Arno Bornkamp, Vincent David, Jérôme Laran, Jean-Michel Goury etc
His passion is to research and build links between classical & jazz musicians.… To feed this research, he started, several years ago, a duet project with Jerry Bergonzi. They both perform, compose, teach and share their experience with a lot of fun and passion.
In the same way, he also takes part in Jean-François Zygel concerts and TV shows in a classical improvising style. His music style is somewhere between contemporary research, jazz and world music. His music is published by editions : Robert Martin, Billaudot, Leduc.
Philippe Geiss also organised Sax Open – XVII  World Saxophone Congress & Festival   from 9th to 14th July 2015 in  Strasbourg – France and now he is in charge of the World Saxophone Alliance  project.
Philippe Geiss is a Selmer and D’Addario artist.

Jean-Michel Goury

JMG_08
Born in Tonneins (Aquitaine) in 1961, he studied at the Bordeaux Conservatory (with J.-M. Londeix, F. Rosse and J. Pernoo) and at IRCAM (with R. Piencikowski and D. Kientzy). His talent was recognized at an early age, in 1980, with a first prize at the National Young Soloists’ Competition in Aix-les-Bains (under the presidency of Marcel Mule, accompanied by Roger Muraro). He is currently a certified professor at the Paris/Boulogne-Billancourt Conservatory and director of the Bordeaux International Saxophone Ensemble, made up of students from his class.

Jean-Michel Goury has been invited to perform at prestigious festivals (Salzburg, Lucerne, Edinburgh, Paris-Festival d’automne, Witten [Germany], Uzeste and Vandoeuvre [France], Odessa, Chicago, Berlin) and appeared as soloist with the Bavarian Youth Philharmonic Orchestra, Paris National Opera, Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio-France, and the chamber orchestras of Italy, Auvergne and Toulouse. He has given chamber music concerts round the world with the saxophone quartet XASAX, pianist Yves Josset, the Apollinaire Quartet and Les Elements.

Alongside this intense concert activity, he is regularly invited to give master classes and recitals at numerous universities and graduate schools (Northwestern, Eastman School, Bowling Green, Michigan State, Universite du Quebec a Montreal [UQAM], and in Basel, Tel Aviv, Madrid, Vienna, Seville, Pesaro and Cologne).

Quite involved in creation, he has collaborated on many productions of highly diverse aesthetics (his companions ranging from Yosh’Ko Seffer to Pascal Rophe , Evan Parker etc) and, since 1979, has given the first performances of more than 400 works by composers from horizons as different as Henri Sauguet, Marius Constant, Georges Aperghis, or Christian Lauba etc. To date, he has recorded more than 35 CDs, several of which have received major distinctions.

TOP OF PAGE
Kenneth Tse

 Edited-7344_s
Widely recognized as one of the leading classical saxophonists in the world, Kenneth Tse is certainly one of the instrument’s outstanding proponents on any saxophone aficionado’s short list. He burst on the scene in 1996 as the winner of the prestigious New York Artists International Award, which resulted in an acclaimed debut recital at Carnegie Hall and being hailed “a young virtuoso” by the New York Times. The Alex Award from the National Alliance for Excellence led to another Carnegie Hall performance. And these are but two of the multitude of awards that Tse has garnered in less than a decade and a half.  Since then he has been a frequent soloist in five continents.  He has also been a guest clinician at conferences hosted by the California Band Directors’ Association, Iowa Bandmaster’s Association, and the Midwest International Band and Orchestra Clinics. Prestigious universities and conservatories worldwide, such as Sydney Conservatory, Moscow Conservatory and Paris Conservatory have invited him to give master classes.  He was recently a judge, representing the USA, at the 6th Adolphe Sax International Competition in Dinant, Belgium.

Tse has been an active recording artist since his first CD for Crystal Records at age 23.  There are now a total of six Crystal CDs—presenting a wide variety of saxophone repertoire, most of it new, some with assisting artists—as well as eight other releases and more in process on RIAX records, Enharmonic records, Arizona University Recordings and MSR Classics.  As an advocate for new music, Tse has had over thirty works dedicated to him by notable American composers as well as international composers.  Tse has recorded and premiered many of these concertos, sonatas, solo works and chamber pieces. His arrangements for the saxophone are published by Reed Music, Australia, and his articles have been featured in the Saxophone Journal, The Instrumentalist, Fanfare Magazine, Saxophone Symposium, Iowa Bandmaster Association Journal, Japan’s Piper and The Sax Magainzes, and Yamaha Education Series.  Tse has also founded the Hong Kong International Saxophone Symposium which connects saxophonists from Asia and Oceania with world-class saxophone performers and teachers in a week-long event.

Tse is currently Professor of Saxophone at the University of Iowa, President of the North American Saxophone Alliance, and President of the International Saxophone Committee.  More information and media clips are available at www.kenneth-tse.com.
TOP OF PAGE


David Nabb, guest lecturer

David Nabb 2015(1)
David Nabb is Professor of Music at the University of Nebraska Kearney. Born and raised in Iowa, he holds both B.M. and M.M. degrees in Multiple Woodwind Performance from Indiana University, and Ph.D. in Music Education from the University of North Texas. He has performed professionally on all of the woodwind instruments throughout the United States, Asia, Europe, and in the Middle East.
Since surviving a stroke 2000, David has worked with Jeff Stelling to develop a saxophone that can be played with the right hand only. Nabb has demonstrated his toggle-key saxophone throughout the world, and is often asked to speak and write about music for persons with disabilities. In 2013, David Nabb and Jeff Stelling received the first-ever OHMI/Ars Electronica prize for their work on the toggle-key saxophone at Bruckner Hall in Linz Austria. Previously, they received awards from VSA, NAMM and NAPBIRT at the Kennedy Center in Washington, DC.
Nabb has written articles about music for people with disabilities for number of national publications, including Medical Problems of Performing Artists, Flöte Aktuell, The Flutist Quarterly, The Journal of the American Occupational Therapy Association, and The Journal of Research in Music Education.
Dr. Nabb's teaching experiences include several years as a public school band director, and three years as Director of Instrumental Music at Three Rivers Community College in Poplar Bluff, Missouri. He served as Associate Instructor of Saxophone at Indiana University, and was selected to be a member of the Teaching Excellency Fellowship Program at the University of North Texas. Many of Dr. Nabb's students have gained state, regional and national recognition. In 2004, University of Nebraska President L. Dennis Smith named Dr. Nabb one of the University of Nebraska's "New Pioneers." David Nabb is a Yamaha Performing Artist, and plays exclusively on Eugene Rousseau saxophone mouthpieces.

TOP OF PAGE


Iowa Saxophonists' Workshop
ISW15-16_s
Iowa Saxophonists’ Workshop is directed by Dr. Kenneth Tse and involves select students from the University of Iowa saxophone studio playing sopranino through bass saxophones.  The ensemble performs music of a variety of styles and difficulties and at times accompanies guest soloists. A public concert is given at the end of each school year. 

Besides local performances, the ensemble has also been featured at various regional and national conferences such as the Iowa Bandmasters Conference, North American Saxophone Alliance National Conference and the Midwest Clinic. The members are also veterans in solo and chamber music and have garnered national recognition through competitions and performances.  In 2010, members of this ensemble won top three awards at North American Saxophone Alliance Classical Solo and Chamber Music Competitions, the national winner title of the MTNA Chamber Music Competition, and Silver Medal at the Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition.

In summer of 2016, the ensemble will embark on its first Asian concert tour to Hong Kong and Chengdu.

TOP OF PAGE