The University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts & Sciences Department of English

Tennyson and Morris:
Dates of Medieval Material Published During Their Lifetime

T: 1830 Poems: "The Ballad of Oriana," "The Lady of Shallott" (early version)

T: 1842 Poems: "Sir Galahad," "Sir Launcelot and Queen Guinevere," "St Agnes Eve," "The Lady of Shalott" (later version), "The Day-Dream" "Morte d'Arthur," and "Godiva"

T: 1847 The Princess

M: 1857 The Defence of Guenevere, Arthurian poems:

T: 1859 The False and the True (Idylls of the King, first part): "Enid," "Vivien," "Elaine," and "Guinvevere"

M: 1868 The Earthly Paradise, vol. 1, medieval tales: "The Wanderers," "The Man Born to be King," "The Proud King," "The Writing on the Image"

T: 1869 The Holy Grail and Other Poems: "The Coming of Arthur," "The Holy Grail," "Peleas and Ettarre," "The Passing of Arthur"

M: 1869 Translations from the Icelandic: The Saga of Gunnlaug-Wormtongue and The Story of Grettir the Strong

M: 1870 Translation, The Story of the Volsungs and Niblungs

vols. 2 and 3 of The Earthly Paradise, medieval tales: "The Lady of the Land," "The Watching of the Falcon," "Ogier the Dane," "The Land East of the Sun and West of the Moon," "The Man Who Neer Laughed Again," "The Lovers of Gudrun," "The Fostering of Aslaug," "The Ring Given to Venus," "The Hill of Venus"

T: 1871 "The Last Tournament" in the Contemporary Review

T: 1872 Gareth and Lynette

M: 1872 Love Is Enough, a masque in a medieval setting

T: 1873 Revised version of Idylls

M: 1875 Translations entitled Three Northern Love Stories. There are actually six stories: "The Story of Gunnlaug the Worm-tongue and Raven the Skald," "The Story of Frithiof the Bold," "The Story of Viglund the Fair," "The Tale of Hogni and Hedinn," "The Tale of Roi the Fool," "The Tale of Thorstein Staff-Smitten"

T: 1876 Harold, drama on last Anglo-Saxon king

M: 1876 Sigurd the Volsung, Morris' epic prose using Volsunga Saga materials

T: 1880 "The Battle of Brunanburgh," a translation

T: 1881 The Forresters, a drama of Robin Hood and Maid Marian

T: 1884 Becket

T: 1885 "Balin and Balan," in Tiresias and Other Poems

M: 1886-87 A Dream of John Ball, in Commonweal, the Socialist League newspaper

M: 1888 Signs of Change, including lecture, "Feudal England"

T: 1889 "Merlin and the Gleam"; complete Idylls in final form

M: 1890 Lecture, "Art and Industry in the Fourteenth Century"; News from Nowhere, in Commonweal; The Roots of the Mountains, prose romance.

M: 1891 The Story of the Glittering Plain, prose romance

M: 1891-95 with Eirikr Magnusson, published the 5 vol. Saga Library of Norse translations

T: 1892 Tennyson's death

M: 1892 Translation, "The Order of Chivalry"

M: 1893 Translation, The Tale of King Florus and the Fair Jehane. In collaboration with E. B. Bax, issued Socialism: Its Growth and Outcome, a Marxist account of English economic history from the middle ages to the present.

M: 1894 Translations: The Friendship of Amis and Amile, the Tale of King Coustans the Emperor and The History of Over Sea

M: 1895 Child Christopher and Goldilind the Fair, 2 vols. based on Havelock the Dane. Translation of Beowulf, with A. J. Wyatt.

M: 1896 The Well at the World's End, prose romance; unfinished romance, The Sundering Flood

Morris' death


  Copyright © 2010 Florence S Boos, The University of Iowa. All rights reserved.
  Page updated: September 3, 2010 22:56